A Simple Plan to Prevent the Moving Bug

UPDATE: It’s really funny to read this post now, because around June of this same year we both realized we hated it here. This “plan” of mine did not work at all, but mostly because the midwest is just not the place for us. Colorado, here we come! 

Moving Sucks

I’m going to come right out and say that I have high expectations for our new apartment. I’m going to quantify this, too: we are going to live happily here for at least 5 years

Five. Whole. Years. 

Readers. That means I don’t want to move until at least 2019. 2019!

Many of you may be wondering why this is such a big deal to me. Well, let me explain. Jason and I have moved twice in the past 6 months, and 5 times within the past 6 years. Two of these trips were across state lines. 

Things were more reasonable back when I lived with my parents: only 4 moves before I moved out, and then 3 moves within 3 years. 

Just in case you lost count, that means I’ve moved 12 times in my life, which is an average of once every 2.33 years (I’m 28years old). 

That means my current goal is to increase my time-between-moves average by 114%! 

But, How?

My biggest problem is that I either get bored of a place or I feel like we (i.e., our stuff) have outgrown it. Given that we are living in the city, our place really is currently smaller than the places we’ve had in the past. So, this is going to be hard.

I have a two-step plan: 

1. Don’t buy stuff (timely, given my blogger-friend Tony’s recent post

2. Enforce the “everything must have a place” rule, for when I break rule #1

I want to do this right the first time. We don’t have a lot of money, so I don’t want to buy temporary storage/shelves and then upgrade. Unfortunately, that means we currently live in a mini disaster zone. 

It may take some time, but eventually this place is going to be great. We both have a lot of ideas (mostly in the form of Ikea purchases) to really make this an efficient and comfortable place to live. 

~ * Don’t forget to check out my store!

9 thoughts on “A Simple Plan to Prevent the Moving Bug

  1. I like that in almost all of the pictures theres is a reference to your bikes. Tell me, how do you manage to clean, lube and repair your bikes in an apartment. I seem to need a garage and yard for the bikes, stands and tools.

    Like

    • Hehehe well of course! ;)

      Bathtub for bike cleaning (or VERY SUPER EXTREMELY careful car wash, for muddy tires before they enter the premises)

      And we always carve out space for the rest. Always had room for it (we have no kids, which helps). His bike stand is really nice and pro, and folds up, too.

      This current apt will be trickier than in thee past but I came up with a pretty clever plan. It’s a secret though :P

      Like

  2. I understand this completely. I’ve moved over 20 times in my lifetime and always seem to have issues with storage as well as feeling settled. Luckily for me I have a wife who is amazing at organizing and great at keeping me in line when it comes to getting rid of things I no longer need.
    Good luck with the move as well as the organizing.

    Like

  3. I’ve moved multiple times as well, so I feel your pain. Living in a shared house means I have limited space to fill with clutter, so I haven’t accumulated that much stuff. I’ve also recently started to declutter – basically going through my stuff and asking myself, do I really need that? If the answer’s no, out it goes. It’s been surprisingly successful so far. The only thing I won’t part with is any of my books. They take up so much space now I’m thinking of charging them rent.

    Like

    • Thanks :) I must say that the one of the hardest jobs out there must be being a mover. Can you imagine? Oh, dear.

      Hmm…charging books rent. Not a bad idea! We should work on figuring that out ;) I have a lot of technical books, but I’m trying to buy more things on my nook. But I love looking at my books, so it’s hard. I bought my nook a couple years ago and have only read, like, 2 or 3 books I think. There’s just something about a bookshelf full of books that makes me happy

      Like

Leave a Reply

